South Carolina DUI Penalties

If convicted of a DUI, you could face excessive fines, imprisonment and suspension of your driver's license. Furthermore, a civil action could be brought against you for the damages you caused. A wrongful death action may also be brought against you if the accident resulted in a family member being killed. The nature of the DUI charges against you depends on many factors, including your prior convictions, the severity of the offense, the level of intoxication and whether the offense caused injury or death. A felony DUI is typically imposed when there has been great bodily injury or death to another. A felony DUI can result in extensive jail time and hefty fines as well as license suspension or revocation.

The attorneys of Axelrod & Associates are experienced in handling DUI cases in South Carolina. Under the South Carolina DUI penalty statutes, the penalties that you might receive depend on quite a few factors. The most significant factors are 1) your alcohol level (BAC); and 2) whether you have prior Myrtle Beach DUI convictions, and if so, how many.

We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case. Call 843-353-3449 to speak to a lawyer today. We have offices in Myrtle Beach, Rock Hill and Little River.

The sentencing scheme is as follows:

First Offense:

BAC < .10: If the driver's BAC was above .08 but below .10, the driver will be fined $400 and sentenced to between two and 30 days in jail, but if the court uses the minimum two-day sentence, it can allow the driver to serve 48 hours of community service instead. > .10 < .16 BAC: If the driver's BAC was above .10 but below .16, the driver will be fined $500 and sentenced to between three and 30 days in jail, but if the court uses the minimum three-day sentence, it can allow the driver to serve 72 hours of community service instead. BAC > .16: If the driver's BAC was above .16, the driver will be fined $1,000 and sentenced to between 30 and 90 days in jail, but if the court uses the minimum 30-day sentence, it can allow the driver to serve 30 days of community service instead.

Second Offense:

BAC < .10: If the driver's BAC was above .08 but below .10, the driver will be fined between $2,100 and $5,100 and sentenced to between five days and one year in jail. > .10 but < .16 BAC: If the driver's BAC was above .10 but below .16, the driver will be fined between $2,500 and $5,500 and sentenced to between 30 days and two years in jail. BAC > .16: If the driver's BAC was above .16, the driver will be fined between $3,500 and $6,500 and sentenced to between 90 days and three years in jail.

Third Offense:

BAC < .10: If the driver's BAC was above .08 but below .10, the driver will be fined between $3,800 and $6,300 and sentenced to between 60 days and three years in jail. > .10 but < .16: If the driver's BAC was above .10 but below .16, the driver will be fined between $5,000 and $7,500 and sentenced to between 90 days and four years in jail. BAC > .16: If the driver's BAC was above .16, the driver will be fined between $7,500 and $10,000 and sentenced to between six months and five years in jail.

Fourth Offense or greater:

BAC < .10: If the driver's BAC was above .08 but below .10, the driver will be sentenced to between one and five years in jail. > .10 but < .16 BAC: If the driver's BAC was above .10 but below .16, the driver will be sentenced to between two and six years in jail. BAC > .16: If the driver's BAC was above .16, the driver will be sentenced to between three and seven years in jail.

Got Axelrod?

For more information about the sentence structure, please get in touch with our Myrtle Beach DUI attorneys at Axelrod & Associates. Call 843-353-3449 or complete our contact form for a free initial consultation.