4701 Oleander Drive, Suite A
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Myrtle Beach Moped Accident Lawyer

Myrtle Beach Moped Accident Lawyer

Moped Accident Attorneys in Myrtle Beach, SC

Moped and electric scooter accidents are on the rise in the Myrtle Beach area, throughout SC, and across the country. If you have been injured in a moped or scooter crash in SC, the Myrtle Beach moped accident attorneys at Axelrod & Associates are here to help you recover full and fair compensation for your injuries.

The Myrtle Beach area has moped rentals and scooter rentals at various locations throughout the city, including near Ocean Boulevard, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, the SkyWheel, and in Market Commons, providing easy access to mopeds and scooters for vacationers as well as locals.

Moped crashes are often caused by other drivers who are not paying attention and who are not looking for mopeds. If you are hit by a reckless driver while riding a moped, they are liable for all damage that they caused, including your injuries, pain and suffering, property damage, and possibly punitive damages as well.

In some cases, you may also be covered by the rental agency’s insurance policy, although you may have signed an arbitration agreement when you rented the moped or scooter that may prevent you from suing the company.

best moped accident myrtle beach sc

South Carolina Moped Laws

SC’s moped laws may differ from the moped laws in other states. In SC:

  • You can drive a moped at the age of 15,
  • You are required to have a moped license,
  • Mopeds must be registered with the DMV,
  • Mopeds must have a license tag,
  • It is optional to title a moped but not required,
  • Moped owners are not required to carry liability insurance, and
  • Moped owners are not required to pay property taxes.

If you are driving on the highway – occupy your lane. Do not drive on the edge of the road – it is dangerous, and it encourages other vehicles to attempt to pass you in your lane which is illegal.

You have the same right to be on the road as other vehicles, and you should confidently drive in your lane even if that means cars must slow down behind you.

Electric Scooter Laws in Myrtle Beach, SC

Myrtle Beach does not have electric scooters laying around waiting for someone to pick them up like many other major cities. If you want to rent a scooter, there are rental stores where you can find one close to the Boulevard, Market Commons, and other local attractions.

Myrtle Beach Municipal Code Section 12-252 makes it a crime to:

  • Abandon an electric scooter on public property,
  • Operate a shared mobility device within city limits, or
  • Provide or offer for use a shared mobility device within city limits.

City officials will impound any shared mobility device or unfranchised scooters that they find, charge a $100 fee for their return, and may dispose of them after 48 hours. The provision of shared mobility devices is a misdemeanor offense and can result in the loss of a company’s business license.

FAQs About South Carolina Moped Accident Laws

If you have been involved in a moped accident, you may have questions.

Below, we provide some general information, but you should contact a Myrtle Beach moped and scooter accident attorney immediately to discuss the specifics of your case and to find out what your options are.

Does it Matter if I was Wearing a Helmet?

You are only required to wear a helmet in SC if you are under the age of 21, and the SC Supreme Court has held that it is not comparative negligence or assumption of the risk for motorcyclists, moped riders, or scooter riders who are at least 21 years old to fail to wear a helmet in SC.

Who has the Right-of-Way, Cars or Mopeds?

The same rules apply to mopeds that apply to cars, trucks, or other vehicles, with few exceptions. If you are traveling on a city street or the highway on a moped, you have the right to occupy your lane even if your speed is lower than the surrounding traffic.

One exception is SC’s motorcycle and moped red-light law – if you are on a motorcycle, moped, or bicycle, you are stopped at a red light for longer than 120 seconds, and it does not change, you have the right to treat the light as if it were a stop sign and proceed through the red light while exercising due care.

Where Can I Find an Electric Scooter or Moped in Myrtle Beach?

You can find moped rentals and scooter rentals throughout the Myrtle Beach area, including near the Boulevard, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, the SkyWheel, and Market Commons.

Do I Need a License to Drive a Moped in SC?

You do need a moped license to drive a moped in SC. At 15 years of age, you can get a limited moped license that requires supervision after dark, and, at 16 years of age, you can get an unrestricted moped license.

Are Moped Owners Required to Carry Liability Insurance in SC?

Moped owners are not required to carry liability insurance in SC, although it is recommended. If you are in an accident caused by someone else’s negligence, their insurance policy should pay for your injuries.

If you rented a moped or scooter, the rental business may also have insurance that covers your injuries, but you may be prevented from suing the business if you signed an arbitration agreement.


If you have been injured in a moped crash or electric scooter accident in South Carolina, the Myrtle Beach motorcycle accident attorneys at Axelrod & Associates may be able to help you to get maximum compensation for your injuries.

Call 843-916-9300 or complete our contact form for a free initial consultation.


Need help? Contact Axelrod & Associates, P.A.

Our Locations

Medios de Comunicación Social:


Request your

The fields marked with * are mandatory.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.