4701 Oleander Drive, Suite A
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Longs DUI Lawyer

Longs DUI Lawyer

Longs DUI Attorney

Driving under the influence (DUI) puts everyone on the road in danger. South Carolina takes DUI charges very seriously, and state prosecutors diligently pursue DUI cases to prevent injuries and fatalities caused by drunk and impaired drivers. It is often scary and overwhelming to be charged with a DUI. If you are convicted for the mistake of driving impaired, you can face probation, jail time, hundreds in fines, and license suspension or revocation.

Avoiding or lowering the impact that these charges can have on your future is more likely when you have a vigorous DUI defense lawyer in Longs, SC representing you and your rights. A DUI conviction and a criminal record, in addition to criminal penalties, can harm future education, housing, and career opportunities. Making a mistake should not alter the rest of your life. You deserve an effective defense for DUI charges.

Longs DUI Lawyer

Axelrod & Associates: Your Longs DUI Attorneys

The attorneys at Axelrod & Associates understand the impact that a DUI conviction can have, including immediate criminal penalties, potential civil penalties, long-term consequences for your future, and financial strain. Our attorneys have over 100 years of experience in various legal fields, and we want to use our knowledge, resources, and familiarity with the law to defend you and your rights. We dedicate the necessary time and individualized care to fight for the ideal outcome for your DUI case.

What Are South Carolina DUI Laws?

In Longs, you can be arrested, charged, and convicted for a DUI for the following reasons:

  1. Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater
  2. Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or another substance that materially impairs your ability to drive the vehicle
  3. Being a commercially licensed driver operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or greater
  4. Being under the legal drinking age of 21 and operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or greater

Due to the laws surrounding the operation of a vehicle while materially impaired, you can be charged with a DUI even if your BAC is under the applicable legal limit. If the arresting officer has reason to believe that you are impaired, and has evidence of it, you can be convicted. You can also be convicted if your BAC is over the legal limit and you were not materially impaired.

Penalties for a DUI Conviction

The penalties for a DUI are based on the number of prior offenses that an individual has had in the past 10 years and their BAC level at the time of their arrest.

First Offense Penalties

  • BAC under 0.10%: 48 hours to 30 days in jail
  • BAC 0.10-0.15%: 72 hours to 30 days in jail
  • BAC 0.16% or higher: 30 to 90 days in jail

A first offense can also result in a 6-month license suspension and fines of up to $1,000.

Second Offense Penalties

  • BAC under 0.10%: 5 days to 1 year in jail
  • BAC 0.10-0.15%: 30 days to 2 years in jail
  • BAC 0.16% or higher: 90 days to 3 years in jail

A second DUI conviction can result in a license suspension for 1 year.

Third Offense Penalties

  • BAC under 0.10%: 60 days to 3 years in jail
  • BAC 0.10-0.15%: 90 days to 4 years in jail
  • BAC 0.16% or higher: 6 months to 5 years in jail

A third offense will result in a 2-year license suspension.

Fourth and Subsequent Offense Penalties

  • BAC under 0.10%: 1 to 5 years in prison
  • BAC 0.10-0.15%: 2 to 6 years in prison
  • BAC 0.16% or higher: 3 to 7 years in prison

A fourth offense results in permanent license revocation.

Felony DUI

A felony DUI offense is charged when the impaired driver causes an accident that results in serious injury or death. Depending on the severity of an injury, penalties may include 30 days to 15 years in prison but up to 25 years in prison for fatalities.

DUI Lawyer FAQs

Q: How Much Does a Lawyer Charge to Get You Out of a DUI?

A: The average hourly cost of a criminal defense attorney in South Carolina is $351, but this varies significantly. A DUI attorney may also charge based on a flat fee, especially if they expect a straightforward case in your situation. An attorney’s fees rely on several factors, including where they are located, how much experience they have in criminal defense and DUI defense, and how complicated your unique case is expected to be. If you have prior DUI charges, or there are aggravating factors present, an attorney’s fees may increase.

Q: How Do I Get My License Reinstated After a DUI charge in South Carolina?

A: The process of license reinstatement will depend on the terms and length of your license suspension or revocation, as well as the severity of your DUI offense. You will have to complete a state-approved education and treatment program and pay a $100 reinstatement fee if your license is suspended and you want to restore it. In some cases, you could be required to maintain an SR22 insurance certificate for several years following a conviction. There may also be additional fines and an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle.

Q: How Long Does a DUI Case Take in South Carolina?

A: The length of time that a DUI case takes in South Carolina varies based on:

  • The specifics of the individual case
  • The court the case is handled by
  • Any aggravating factors
  • Whether the case goes to trial or not

It may take a few weeks if the defendant pleads guilty, or it may take several months to over a year to resolve in a trial. An attorney is useful in determining what is in the defendant’s interests.

Q: How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in South Carolina?

A: A DUI never leaves your criminal record, and it cannot be expunged. How long a DUI stays on your driving record depends on the severity of the offense and how many prior convictions you have for DUIs. A first-offense DUI may stay on a driving record for 10 years, and multiple DUI convictions may be permanently on your driving record. Even if the DUI does not show up on your driving record, it will always show up on your criminal history. This is why you should do everything you can to prevent being convicted by working with an attorney.

Contact Axelrod & Associates

If you have been charged with a DUI, contact Axelrod & Associates to build your defense.


Need help? Contact Axelrod & Associates, P.A.

Our Locations

Medios de Comunicación Social:


Request your

The fields marked with * are mandatory.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.